My Save The Monarch Project: We Have Caterpillars….

Yesterday I was walking in the yard, filling the bird feeders and just taking a look at everything. Every morning I do what we call “a spin” with a cup of coffee in my hand and look at the status of things. I was looking at the garden square that I have made the “butterfly sanctuary” and lo and behold! Monarch caterpillars on the milkweed!

There were three of them visible to me.

August 2013 007

Monarch butterfly caterpillar on tropical milkweed plant. Eileen Anglin. http://www.whiterosepath.com

August 2013 006

Monarch butterfly caterpillar on tropical milkweed plant. Eileen Anglin. http://www.whiterosepath.com

August 2013 004

My Butterfly Sanctuary Garden Square in The Gardens of 333

A few hours afterwards, I came back out to take a look and one was missing, and another one crawling away from the plant. I can tell I am going to be an anxious butterfly mom. I put it back on the milkweed. I also saw that one of the plants they were munching on was already stripped bare.

We are going to need more milkweed. I definitely don’t have enough, and the thought of them running out of food will be hard on me.

August 2013 005

Milkweed Stripped Bare by Monarch larvae Within Hours

So, I came inside to get more information on what to do.

Here are some websites with useful information on their behaviors, what to do and what not to do, (ahem..hello me) such as leaving them alone. They need to hide and be still while going through their life cycle, and also, spiders such as the little guys we affectionately call “Jumpieswill get to them. We have a lot of those and I need to be at peace with that as that is Nature’s way.

But I also looked to see where I can get milkweed cuttings FAST. I definitely don’t have enough. Let’s hope they get here and I can establish them fast enough for these hungry babies growing up in The Gardens of 333.

Seeds and Cuttings at low cost:

http://www.livemonarch.com

Learn About Monarchs:

http://www.learnaboutmonarchs.com/monarchbutterflyfaqs.html

Monarch FAQ:

http://www.mymonarchguide.com

About Eileen Anglin

Get angelically empowered. Prayers, videos, art, messages, life coaching with Archangels to create global change, one heart at a time. eileenanglin.com The Path of the White Rose® LLC. We encourage forwarding and sharing, but all use and excerpts must have credit and permission of the author and creator first, are not altered in any way and copyright notice and bio must be included. ©2008-2016 Eileen Anglin & The Path of the White Rose® LLC All Rights Reserved.

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Animal Angels and Animal Spirit Guides, The Gardens of 333 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

Leave a Comment

